Grammar is important

Growing up, my Grandma A. was like my second Mom. She was AWESOME!

We lived around the block from each other for 22 years and saw each other daily, until I moved away. She taught me a lot, helped me whenever I needed it, told me the truth when I was being a real prat and was basically “full of piss and vinegar” until the day she passed in 2013. (In fact, she passed on a Friday the 13th which is TOTALLY her. She would’ve gotten a real kick out of that).

One of the things that she imprinted on me was my grammar. To her, grammar was a very big deal. Every time I hear incorrect grammar it is like nails on a chalkboard. Every time I realize I use incorrect grammar, I feel her on my shoulder going “tsk tsk”.

Here is the point…

The other day I was looking out on our porch and noticed how pretty our Purple Queen is looking. I quickly tell my husband, “the Purple Queen Grandma gave me is looking really great.” To which he says, “Yeah, if you sit and talk to it long enough it will start correcting your grammar.” Ba-dum-bump!

In that moment, things were great! And, snarky…just like her.

My Grandma is always with me. Always in my heart or my ear or my head. I wouldn’t want it any other way.

image
Purple Queen (Tradescantia Pallida)

~ Crys

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

