So it’s been a while…

I really need to get back to writing. (even though I only have a few followers at the moment). Honestly, it is very cathartic for me and I can tell a HUGE difference in my anxiety when I do write. Let’s call it what it is, a distraction.

Distraction can be great. It’s not the way you handle the things that started your anxiety, but it’s a way to combat your anxiety sensitivity. If you are like me, you know what led up to the anxiety, but that is so far removed from your mind at the moment. You are in the vortex of hell…what is called the anxiety circle. You are anxious about being anxious now.

So, here you are. Dealing with not only what led up to this nasty little creature, but it’s torturous game of hell. Washmanaging-exam-anxiety, rinse, repeat. One minute you think you have a foothold, the next minute you are sliding back into the pit. Wash, rinse, repeat.

You and I WILL find our way back. We will climb out of the pit stronger than before. Until then, use the tool of distraction to make you “feel” better. Anything that will make you stop scanning your body for every little blip or feeling. It certainly helps me. And, I know that one day, I will be over the fear OF fear. I will stop giving it so much leverage in my life.

So here ya go…. (and, yes, most of these are cliche)

  • Write (even if it’s one word)
  • Watch funny videos on YouTube
  • Watch funny shows (I LOVE Reba, Everybody Loves Raymond, Golden Girls, Big Bang Theory, Friends, etc)
  • Get into a book series that you cannot stop reading (better if it’s mind numbing smut)
  • Find a monthly workout challenge and commit to it (I do one IN my house)
  • Gratitude journal – name three things every day that you are grateful for
  • Pray or talk to your higher power
  • Doodle, draw, paint…etc.
  • Find a goal that you REALLY want to achieve and just freakin’ do it. (last time I had a bad bout of anxiety, I signed up for a 15k. And, guess what? I trained and trained and it pulled me completely out of my anxiety for 9 years). — I have signed up for a half marathon and I will be training again come hell or high water!

Point is, do something even when you don’t feel like it and do it every day. Once your mind gets in the zone, those anxious feelings are relieved even if it’s just for a small amount of time.

One step at a time…

~ Crys

 

 

Leave a Reply

