Music of significance…to me (2)

Music is a vice I like to use when I am feeling particuarly anxious. I like to listen to the words, decipher them and figure out what the artist is trying to convey. Kind of like a college literature course where you have to share what you get out of whatever it is you’re reading. Funny, I always had a difficult time with all the “thee’s and thou’s and art thou’s” in understanding what the hell the book is about.   I digress…

I am very eclectic in my music preferences. Naturally, I lean towards the alternative and indie side. So, when I found this I was in an alt mood. 😉

Mountains At My Gates – Foals

 
I see a mountain at my gates
I see it more and more each day
What I give, it takes away
Whether I go or when I stay
I see a mountain at my gates
I see it more and more each day
I see a fire out by the lake
I’ll drive my car without the brakes
I see a mountain in my way
It’s looming larger by the day
I see a darkness in my fate
I’ll drive my car without the brakes

image

Oh, gimme some time
Show me the foothold from which I can climb
Yeah, when I feel low
You show me a signpost for where I should go
I see a mountain at my gates
I see it more and more each day
And my desire wears a dark dress
But each day, I see you less
Oh, gimme some time
Show me the foothold from which I can climb
Yeah, when I feel low
You show me a signpost for where I should go
Through lanes and stone rows
Black granite, wind blows
Fire lake and far flame
Go now but come again
Dark clouds gather ’round
Will I run or stand my ground
Oh, when I come to climb
Show me the mountain so far behind
Yeah, it’s farther away
Its shadow gets smaller day after day
Yeah, gimme my way
Gimme my love
Gimme my choice
You keep me coming around
Gimme my fate
Gimme my lungs
Gimme my voice
You keep me coming around
Gimme my lungs
Gimme my, gimme my
Gimme my, gimme my
Gimme my, gimme my
Gimme my, gimme my
Gimme my way
Gimme my fate
Gimme my lungs
Gimme my choice
You keep me coming round

 

With anxiety there is always a mountain to climb over, to go round, to get through. Look for that foothold, that hope, that courage and CLIMB! Before long, that mountain will be in the rear view mirror!

~ Crys

 

 

Leave a Reply

